Field set for Athens NCAA women's golf regional

Posted April 30, 2017

Earlier today on Golf Channel's Morning Drive the field for the 2017 NCAA Women's Division I Golf Championship was announced.

Southern Conference Player of the Year Loy Hee Ying (Baru, Kulaijaya, Malaysia) learned on Monday afternoon that her sophomore season isn't over as she was selected to compete in the Columbus Regional Site of the NCAA Tournament as an individual.

The national championships will be May 19-24 at Rich Harvest Farms in Sugar Grove, Ill., hosted by Northern Illinois.

The field includes six top-25 teams - No. 2 Alabama, Georgia, No. 11 Northwestern, No. 14 Arizona, No. 19 Baylor and No. 22 Wake Forest - as well as Auburn, Augusta, Clemson, Kansas State, Michigan State, North Carolina, North Florida, Princeton, Quinnipiac, Tennessee, Troy and UCF.

The women's golf team will compete at the Lubbock Regional hosted by Texas Tech.

There were 72 schools selected who will compete in the four regionals.

Nintendo Switch Might Outsell Wii U In Just Its First Year
For fiscal 2017, the Japanese company expects an operating profit of around 60 billion yen from 750 billion yen in revenue. Earlier this year, for example, Nintendo aired a prime-time television commercial during the Super Bowl.

"You could see a huge progression in her maturity this year", head coach Annie Young said. Additionally, Peronnin's top-3 finish is the first for a Gopher since Sara Evens was also third in 1992.

Nistrup, who finished T12 in 2015 individually as a sophomore before a wrist injury ended her junior season in the fall of 2015, will participate in the Lubbock (Texas) regional as one of six players selected for that regional not on the 18 teams. She was the individual champion at the Golfweek Conference Challenge.

In 2016, she played at Stanford, finishing in the top third of the West Regional.

The tournament will consist of four rounds of stroke play - Friday through Monday - and the final three rounds - quarterfinals, semifinals and championship - will switch to match play Tuesday and Wednesday. The Blue Devils have won a total of six NCAA Championships over the last 18 years --1999, 2002, 2005, 2006, 2007, and 2014.

The team enters regional play with three victories and seven top five finishes on the season, highlighted by wins at the East Lake Cup, LSU Tiger Golf Classic and ACC Championship.